On the edge of Hampstead Heath surrounded by tranquil landscaped gardens, Kenwood is one of London's hidden gems. The breath-taking interiors and stunning world-class art collection are free for everyone to enjoy. Searcys are delighted to cater at Kenwood House and as one of London's leading event specialists can ensure that our passion for culinary excellence and impeccable service will be seen throughout every event.
The original house dates back to the early 17th century when it was known as Caen Wood House. In 1754 it was bought by William Murray, 1st Earl of Mansfield who commissioned Robert Adam to remodel between 1764 and 1779. Adam added the library as well as the portico at the entrance and in 1793-6 George Saunders added two wings on the north side; the offices, kitchen buildings and a brewery (now known as the Brew House Café).
Lord Iveagh, a rich Anglo-Irish businessman and philanthropist (of the Guinness family) bought the house in 1925 and left it to the nation upon his death in 1927. It was subsequently opened to the public in 1928.
As of the late 1990’s, the house has received 150,000 visitors per year with over 1,000,000 people visiting the grounds. The house contains internationally important works of art by Rembrandt and Vermeer and the grounds contain sculptures by the likes of Barbara Hepworth and Henry Moore.Our Cafés